The Poet X

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Mar 6, 2018 - Young Adult Fiction - 384 pages

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. 

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

“An incredibly potent debut.” —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

This young adult novel, a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List, is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 6 to 8.

Plus don't miss Elizabeth Acevedo's With the Fire on High and Clap When You Land!

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
26
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bookworm12 - LibraryThing

I'm officially completely in love with Acevedo's work. This is the third book I've read of hers and I've loved each one. She writes young women in such a believable and intimate way. She captures ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ecataldi - LibraryThing

Brilliantly narrated by the author. This novel in verse tells the story of a fifteen yer old girl trying to navigate New York City, her poetry, religion, her parents, her twin brother, and her ... Read full review

All 5 reviews »

Contents

StoopSitting
When Youre Born to Old Parents
Have
Twins Name
Church Mass
What Twin Be Knowing
Smoke Parks
But Why Twin Is Still the Only Boy Ill Ever Love
Didnt Say to Caridad in Confirmation Class
Mother Business
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

Elizabeth Acevedo is the author of The Poet X—which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, the Pura Belpré Award, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and the Walter Award—as well as With the Fire on High and Clap When You Land. She is a National Poetry Slam champion and holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of Maryland. Acevedo lives with her partner in Washington, DC. You can find out more about her at www.acevedowrites.com.