The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

Front Cover
Penguin, Oct 20, 2005 - Business & Economics - 208 pages
0 Reviews
Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they’re petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they’ve always done.

In 2003, Seth Godin’s Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable—to drive growth by standing out in a world full of brown cows. It struck a huge chord and stayed on the Business-Week bestseller list for nearly two years. You can hear countless brainstorming meetings where people refer to purple cows and say things like, “That’s not good enough. We need to create a big moo!”

But how do you create a big moo—an insight so astounding that people can’t help but remark on it, like digital TV recording (TiVo) or overnight shipping (FedEx), or the world’s best vacuum cleaner (Dyson)? Godin worked with thirty-two of the world’s smartest thinkers to answer this critical question. And the team—with the likes of Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban, Robyn Waters, Dave Balter, Red Maxwell, and Randall Rothenberg on board—created an incredibly useful book that’s fun to read and perfect for groups to share, discuss, and apply.

The Big Moo is a simple book in the tradition of Fish and Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

The Big Moo : Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Godin derived the title for this engaging anthology of business homiletics from his marketing manifesto Purple Cow, which extolled the importance of garish new products that grab customers' attention ... Read full review

Contents

TWO KINDS OF ORGANIZATIONS
GET STARTED FAST AND CHEAP
STEVEN SAVAGE IS NOT MORE CREATIVE THAN YOU ARE
THE PROBLEM WITH COMPROMISE
THE POWER OF DUMB IDEAS
INSIDE OUTOUTSIDE IN
THE STUDENT BECOMES THE TEACHER
FIRE THE GATEKEEPERS

A PLAY IN THREE JOKES
REAL ARTISTS SHIP
THIS IS YOUR FIRST TEST
ISAAC NEWTONS HEAD
WHAT DO YOU STAND FOR?
HOW TO MAKE MONEY WITH GARLIC
BE LIKE REGGIE
WHY NOT? WHY NOW?
ARE YOU ALWAYS RUNNING OUT OF TIME?
BUT OR AND?
PANIC AT INAPPROPRIATE TIMES
TEAR DOWN THIS WALL
THEY SAY IM EXTREME
THE REMARKABLE GERTRUDE BELL
THREE STEPS AHEAD
MR BUTTS SHOPPERS
WHAT EXACTLY ARE YOU AFRAID OF?
THE ONE THING YOU CANT DOWNLOAD
THE BELL CURVE
FEAR VERSUS ANXIETY
TOO RICH TOO THIN TOO EFFICIENT?
GET OUT
DONT BE LIKE PETE
TEN THINGS SMART STARTUPS KNOW
GOTTA SERVE SOMEBODY
THE ORIGINALITY BUMP
WHAT BUSINESS CAN LEARN FROM DANCERS
EVERYONE NEEDS A ROOF
WHERE DO IDEAS COME FROM?
THE NEXT DA VINCI CODE?
DO YOU KNOW ARTHUR RUBIN?
RON JOHNSON IS NOT A GENIUSBUT HE HIRES THEM EVERY DAY
STOP BEING ORDINARY
THE REMARKABILITY OF MEMORIES
THE POWER OF SMALL STEPS
THE FEARLESS FLIGHT OF LITTLE MAX
SOME THINGS JUST DONT TRANSLATE
BORING
THREE RULES OF LIFE AND EVERYTHING ELSE
CHEVY CHASE AND BILL MURRAY
THIS IS NOT ANOTHER IPOD STORY
JUGGLING IS NOT WHAT YOU THINK IT IS
MAKING THE WRONG DECISIONS SLOWLY
BOB WEARS PANTY HOSE
CARE
DEFYING GRAVITY
WHAT ARE YOU MEASURING?
HELLS ANGELS AT THE CAPTAINS TABLE
PLANT ROCKS
IS BIGGER BETTER?
PLAY
VERSION 10
DAVID AND GOLIATH
GREAT IDEAS IN BED
WHY ASK WHY?
TALKING ABOUT THE WEATHER
NO GUARANTEES
PERIODIC TABLE OF DIFFERENTS
READY OR NOT IN DEFENSE OF YOUR OWN READINESS
WHAT NOW?
THE GROUP OF 33
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Seth Godin is the author of twelve bestselling books, a popular blogger and a successful entrepreneur. His books have been translated into more than 35 languages. He founded Squidoo.com, one of the hundred most popular websites in the United States. Godin has been a columnist for Fast Company and the Harvard Business Review and has given thousands of keynote speeches for companies, governments and non-profit organizations.

Bibliographic information