Anyone Can Grow Up: How George Bush and I Made it to the White House

Front Cover
Simon & Schuster, 2003 - Political Science - 308 pages
0 Reviews
Margaret Carlson -- widely read "Time" columnist, regular CNN panelist, political insider, and hostess of A-list but scarcely traditional Washington dinners -- has been commenting on American life for over a decade. In "Anyone Can Grow Up," she expands on her writings about presidents, politics, morals, children, family life, and lessons from her own life.

In the section entitled "Presidential Material," Carlson reflects on what it takes to be president by looking at those who choose to pursue the office (and by extension, those, like her, who choose to cover the pursuit). She looks at the hard facts (offices held, speeches given, money raised) and the soft, sometimes determinative, ones (how the candidates talk and look, how they perform under pressure, who they marry and divorce when no one is looking, and how they get into -- and out of -- scrapes). The best man doesn't always win. That's why those who've lost, and those who almost run but don't, are covered as well. Bush Sr. and son, and Clinton in his scandalous term, are here. Carlson also takes a look at those whom have thought of running, like Donald Trump, those who America wanted to run, like Colin Powell, and those who've run and lost, like John McCain.

Carlson draws from her own life in the "Family Matters" section as well, commenting on subjects relating to children, women, and men -- from abortion to balancing work and family, from feminism to sexual harassment.

Finally, in the last section, we read about what makes us who we are and what makes us do what we do. From breaking down how congressmen make money on the side to what cost Newt Gingrich his job, from days in court trying the Menendez brothers to amemorable three-hour lunch with Katharine Hepburn that didn't turn out the way she imagined, Carlson finds the strength of character, or lack of it, in Americans famous and not.

Carlson gets as many as a hundred letters a week from readers who say, "That's exactly what I was thinking." In the vein of Anna Quindlen, Ellen Goodman, and Bill O'Reilly, here is a wise and witty book from a writer who knows what makes us tick.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Anyone can grow up: how George Bush and I made it to the White House

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

With her typical wit and insight, Time magazine columnist and frequent television talking head Carlson (the first woman columnist in Time's history) presents a book that is part personal history ... Read full review

Contents

Part One PERSONAL OR FAMILY MATTERS
1
Part Two PRESIDENTIAL MATERIAL
91
Part Three SAINTS AND SINNERS
229
Copyright

2 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2003)

Margaret Carlson was named a columnist for Time magazine in 1994, making her the first woman columnist in the magazine's seventy-eight-year history. She also serves as a panelist on CNN's political programs Inside Politics and The Capital Gang. She has one daughter and lives in Washington, D.C.

Bibliographic information