Front Cover
Jove, Apr 15, 1982 - United States - 539 pages
4 Reviews
Philip Kent fights for the future of his adopted country and of his own wife and son, as British oppression leads America further into Revolutionary War. Includes a new Introduction by Jakes.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - miyurose - LibraryThing

I enjoy Jakes' books immensely. I especially like this series because it's an era I haven't read a whole lot about. The only problem was, in between the first book in the series and this one, I read North and South. I had to re-establish the characters in my head all over again. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - KnittyGritty - LibraryThing

John Jakes brings history to life in this series. Not just dry facts-he makes historic characters & happenings interesting. Read full review


A Taste of Steel
Chapter n Sermon Hill
Chapter in Birth

11 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1982)

John Jakes is the bestselling author of Charleston, the Kent Family Chronicles, the North and South trilogy, On Secret Service, California Gold, Homeland, and American Dreams. Descended from a soldier of the Virginia Continental Line who fought in the American Revolution, Jakes is one of today's most distinguished authors of historical fiction.

Bibliographic information