Virus Taxonomy: VIIIth Report of the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses

Front Cover
Claude M. Fauquet, M.A. Mayo, J. Maniloff, U. Desselberger, L.A. Ball
Academic Press, Jul 15, 2005 - Science - 1162 pages
Virus Taxonomy is a standard and comprehensive source for the classification of viruses, created by the International Committee of the Taxonomy of Viruses. The book includes eight taxonomic reports of the ICTV and provides comprehensive information on 3 taxonomic orders of viruses, 73 families, 9 subfamilies, 287 genera, and 1938 virus species. The book also features about 429 colored pictures and diagrams for more efficient learning.

The text is divided into four parts, comprised of 16 chapters and presenting the following features:
• Compiled data from numerous international experts about virus taxonomy and nomenclature
• Organized information on over 6000 recognized viruses, illustrated with diagrams of genome organization and virus replication cycle
• Data on the phylogenetic relationships among viruses of the same and different taxa
• Discussion of the qualitative and quantitative relationships of virus sequences

The book is a definitive reference for microbiologists, molecular biologists, research-level virologists, infectious disease specialists, and pharmaceutical researchers working on antiviral agents. Students and novices in taxonomy and nomenclature will also find this text useful.

* The standard official ITCV reference for virus taxonomy and nomenclature, compiling data from 500 international experts
* Covers over 6000 recognized viruses, organized by family with diagrams of genome organization and virus replication cycle
* Provides data on the phylogenic relationships between viruses belonging to the same or different taxa
* Now includes information about the qualitative and quantitative relationships between virus sequences

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Claude Fauquet is a renowned plant virologist that has now embarked on plant biotechnology for the last 10 years. Dr. Fauquet has extensive experience in field virology and epidemiology, but also in molecular and experimental virology. He is mostly interested in tropical plant viruses and particularly in geminiviruses that are devastating tropical crops. In 1991, he became Director of ILTAB (International Laboratory for Agricultural Biotechnology), a joint French-American project aiming at transferring plant biotechnologies to less developing countries.

Born and schooled in London; graduated in Botany and then obtained a Ph.D at the University of Nottingham. Spent career in Virology Department at the Scottish Crop Research Institute (formerly the Scottish Horticultural Research Institute) at Dundee except for a sabbatical year in L'Institut de Biologie Moleculaire et Cellulaire, Strasbourg. Currently am an Honorary Research Fellow. During career I published 150 research papers and 85 reviews and book chapters. I have been involved as an editor for 8 books and I have been on several Editorial Boards as well as being Editor for Journal of General Virology, Archives of Virology and Journal of Plant Pathology. Served on the Executive Committee of ICTV for the last 17 years variously as Study Group Chair, Subcommittee Chair and latterly Secretary.

Jack Maniloff is Professor Emeritus of Microbiology and Immunology in the School of Medicine and Dentistry at the University of Rochester. His research has elucidated the ultrastructure and molecular biology of mycoplasma cells and viruses. The latter studies were the beginning of mycoplasma virology and included description of several new virus taxa, first demonstration of restriction and modification in mycoplasmas, and development of the first method for genetic transfer in mycoplasmas. More recent studies have focused on the phylogeny of mycoplasma cells and viruses and chronology of the origin and evolution of microorganisms and their hosts. His awards include a USPHS-NIH Research Career Development Award, a Fogarty Senior International Fellowship, and the 2000 University of Heidelberg Lectureship in Molecular Mycoplasmology. Prof. Maniloff joined the ICTV as elected member in 1990, then as subcommittee chair in 1993 for the Porkaryote viruses and he became Vice-President of ICTV in 1999.

Ulrich Desselberger MD FRCPath FRCP (Glasgow, London), Research Assistant and Consultant, Hannover Medical School, Hannover, Germany, 1968-1976 (apl. Professor for Medical Microbiology, Hannover, Medical School, 1983); Postdoctoral Fellow and Research Assistant Professor, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY, 1977-1979; Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Virologist, University of Glasgow, Scotland UK, 1980-1987; Consultant Virologist and Director, Regional Virus Laboratory, Birmingham UK, 1988-1990; Consultant Virologist and Director, Clinical Microbiology and Public Health Laboratory, Cambridge UK, 1991-2002 (Clinical Director of Pathology, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge, 1998-2002); Senior Research Fellow, CNRS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France, 2002-present. Main scientific interests: genome analysis of RNA viruses (influenzaviruses, rotaviruses, retroviruses a.o.), rotavirus replication, viral determinants of pathogenicity, molecular techniques of viral diagnosis, molecular epidemiology.

Dr. L. Andrew Ball received a D. Phil. in biochemistry from Oxford University in 1969. He first discovered the attractions of viruses as experimental systems while studying the replication of RNA phage when he was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Since then he has held academic positions at the National Institute for Medical Research, Mill Hill, UK; the University of Connecticut-Storrs; the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and the University of Alabama at Birmingham. In his research he has used viruses in the families Rhabdoviridae, Paramyxoviridae, Poxviridae, Nodaviridae, and Tetraviridae to study transcription, replication, and recombination of viral DNA and RNA, as well as the control of gene expression by the cellular mechanisms of innate immunity. He served as chair of the ICTV nodavirus/tetravirus Study Group for six years and as chair of the Invertebrate virus subcommittee before being elected ICTV President in 2002.

Bibliographic information