Let's Pretend This Never Happened

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers, May 1, 2012 - Biography & Autobiography - 336 pages
3801 Reviews
'Even when I was funny, I wasn't this funny.' Augusten Burroughs. For fans of Tina Fey, David Sedaris and anyone who's ever felt like a misfit, an outrageously funny and disturbing memoir from Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess. 'When I tell people that my father is kind of a total lunatic, they laugh and nod knowingly. they assure me that theirs is too, and that he's just a "typical father". And they're probably right, if the typical father runs a full-time taxidermy business out of the house, and shows up at the local bar with a miniature donkey and a teddy Roosevelt impersonator, and thinks other people are weird for making such a big deal out of it. If the typical father says things like "Happy birthday! Here's a bathtub of raccoons!" or "We'll have to take your car. Mine has too much blood in it," then yeah, he's totally normal.' When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. that dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father and a childhood of wearing winter shoes made out of used bread sacks. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humour in the strange shame-spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it. Lawson's long-suffering husband and sweet daughter help her uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments - the ones we want to pretend never happened - are the very same moments that make us the people we are today. Like laughing at a funeral, LEt'S PREtEND tHIS NEVER HAPPENED is both irreverent and impossible to hold back once you get started. 'the Bloggess writes stuff that actually is laugh-out-loud, but you know that really you shouldn't be laughing and probably you'll go to hell for laughing, so maybe you shouldn't read it.' Neil Gaiman 'Even when I was funny, I wasn't this funny.' Augusten Burroughs, author of RUNNING WItH SCISSORS

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

User Review  - Amber - Goodreads

Had me giggling at some of the most ridiculous quotes I've ever heard in my life. Lawson's conversations with her husband and family are absolutely hilarious. Some of it was a bit underwhelming, but overall a very entertaining read. Read full review

Review: Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

User Review  - Sandy - Goodreads

I have mixed feelings about this book. There are many funny parts, one in particular that made me laugh so hard it hurt my throat. I appreciate her sharing about the difficulties of living with ... Read full review

All 30 reviews »

Other editions - View all

Bibliographic information