Sonata No. 1 and Other Works for Solo Piano

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 2001 - Music - 156 pages
0 Reviews

One of the greatest piano virtuosos of modern times, Serge Rachmaninoff has also been universally known and loved for his compositions. His music for piano is a special favorite among students and concert artists rich in soaring melody, technical brilliance, inventive keyboard textures, and a unique exploration of the piano's sound and capabilities.
This collection contains a group of Rachmaninoff's finest music for solo piano. His Sonata No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 28, is joined here by the splendid "Variations on a Theme of Chopin, " Op. 22, based on that composer's C-minor Prelude. The charming pieces of "Six Moments Musicaux, " Op. 16 melodious, dazzling in their intricate passagework, and wonderfully rewarding to pianists who master them are joined as well by four character pieces: from Op. 3, the "Elegie in E-flat Minor, ""Melodie in E Major, " and the delightful "Polichinelle "("Punch"); in addition to the lovely Nocturne in A Minor from Op. 10."

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Bibliographic information