The Trinitarian Theology of Hilary of Poitiers

Front Cover
BRILL, 2007 - Religion - 219 pages
When Hilary of Poitiers was exiled from his native Poitiers in Gaul to Cappadocia, his entire theological sensibility changed. The Latin bishop, schooled in the tradition of Tertullian and Novatian, became a full-throated participant in the Trinitarian controversies of his time. This book offers a new reading of Hilary s Trinitarian theology that takes into account the historical context of Hilary s thought. It first examines this context and the course of Hilary s engagement with his Homoian opponents. It then turns to the key themes of Hilary s theology as he worked them out in that context. The result is a work that not only helps clarify Hilary s theology, but that offers new insight into the Trinitarian controversies as a whole.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Introduction
1
PART ONE THE DEVELOPMENT AND CONTEXT OF HILARYS TRINITARIAN THEOLOGY
23
PART TWO THE SHAPE OF HILARYS TRINITARIAN THEOLOGY
117
Conclusion
196

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Mark Weedman, Ph.D. (2004) in Religious Studies, Marquette University, is Associate Professor of Biblical and Historical Theology at Crossroads College. He has published several articles on the fourth century Trinitarian controversies and is working on a history of Latin Trinitarian theology.

Bibliographic information