City of the Sun: A Novel

Front Cover
Random House Large Print, 2007 - Ex-police officers - 452 pages
33 Reviews
"Riveting suspense in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Michael Connelly, "City of the Sun" introduces retired detective Frank Behr--an imposing, charismatic former cop who agrees to take the case of a boy who's been missing for over a year."

Jamie Gabriel gets on his bike before dawn to deliver newspapers in his suburban Indianapolis neighborhood. He is twelve years old. Somewhere en route, as the October sky lightens, he vanishes without a trace.
Fourteen months later, Paul and Carol Gabriel are on the verge of abandoning all hope. Crushed by frustrating dead ends and exhausted by a police force that cannot (or will not) find their son, the Gabriels finally find a ray of hope: the name of an elusive private investigator who may represent their last chance.
Frank Behr is an enigmatic mountain of a man, a former cop who wants to help--but knows better than to give the Gabriels any hope of a happy ending. He has worked this kind of case too often. But Paul's plea stirs up old personal demons that Behr can no longer ignore. Going against everything he fears, Behr enters into an uneasy partnership with Paul on a quest for the truth that is, in turn, dangerous ... and haunting.
Richly textured and crackling with suspense on every page, "City of the Sun" weaves a moody narrative that hinges on the bond between a damaged detective and a lost father. From the antiseptic comforts of suburban Indianapolis to the city's seamy underworld, David Levien introduces a private investigator as complex, idiosyncratic, and sympathetic as any in modern crime fiction. Levien is a gifted storyteller who will keep readers guessing right up until the final, explosive scene.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: City of the Sun (Frank Behr #1)

User Review  - Marianne Stehr - Goodreads

This was my first book read by this author and I really enjoyed it, already ordering the next books in the series. The character development is great, it is not overly wordy and filled with items just ... Read full review

Review: City of the Sun (Frank Behr #1)

User Review  - Lee - Goodreads

A gut wrenching and intense suspenseful debut. One that places ordinary people in unimaginable filled circumstances. Former cop turned PI (imagine that) Frank Behr, is a nice addition to the genre. Will be reading Mr. Levien's other two Behr cases. Read full review

All 2 reviews »


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

38 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information