City of the Sun: A Novel

Front Cover
Random House Large Print, 2007 - Ex-police officers - 452 pages
3 Reviews
"Riveting suspense in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Michael Connelly, "City of the Sun" introduces retired detective Frank Behr--an imposing, charismatic former cop who agrees to take the case of a boy who's been missing for over a year."

Jamie Gabriel gets on his bike before dawn to deliver newspapers in his suburban Indianapolis neighborhood. He is twelve years old. Somewhere en route, as the October sky lightens, he vanishes without a trace.
Fourteen months later, Paul and Carol Gabriel are on the verge of abandoning all hope. Crushed by frustrating dead ends and exhausted by a police force that cannot (or will not) find their son, the Gabriels finally find a ray of hope: the name of an elusive private investigator who may represent their last chance.
Frank Behr is an enigmatic mountain of a man, a former cop who wants to help--but knows better than to give the Gabriels any hope of a happy ending. He has worked this kind of case too often. But Paul's plea stirs up old personal demons that Behr can no longer ignore. Going against everything he fears, Behr enters into an uneasy partnership with Paul on a quest for the truth that is, in turn, dangerous ... and haunting.
Richly textured and crackling with suspense on every page, "City of the Sun" weaves a moody narrative that hinges on the bond between a damaged detective and a lost father. From the antiseptic comforts of suburban Indianapolis to the city's seamy underworld, David Levien introduces a private investigator as complex, idiosyncratic, and sympathetic as any in modern crime fiction. Levien is a gifted storyteller who will keep readers guessing right up until the final, explosive scene.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

CITY OF THE SUN

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

In this debut novel from screenwriter Levien, a kidnapped child leads an emotionally wounded private detective and his client down a relentlessly grim trail from middle America to the darkest deserts ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mikedraper - LibraryThing

Hard knuckled P.I. Frank Behr reluctantly agrees to help Paul and Carol Gabriel search for their missing son, Jamie, who has been missing for over a year. Frank knows that the chances of finding the ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
8
Section 2
40
Section 3
49
Copyright

38 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information