Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][graphic][subsumed][subsumed][merged small]

NEWCOMB & GAUSS

Printers

Salem, Massachusetts

frad 4200639 repla 8:23-02

pepl

EXPLANATIONS

The following records of births, marriages and deaths include all entries to be found in the books of record kept by the town clerks; in the church records ; in the returns made to the Salem Quarterly Court; in the cemetery inscriptions; and in private records found in family Bibles, etc.

Bibles, etc. These records are printed in a condensed form in which every essential particular has been preserved. All duplication of the town clerks' record has been eliminated, but differences in entry and other explanatory matter appear in brackets. Parentheses are used when they occur in the original record; also to indicate the maiden name of a married woman.

When places other than Andover and Massachusetts are named in the original records, they are given in the printed copy. Marriages and intentions of marriage are printed under the names of both parties. Double dating is used in the months of January, February and March, prior to 1752, whenever it appears in the original and also, whenever from the sequence of entry in the original the date may be easily determined. In all records the original spelling of names is followed and in the alphabetical arrangement the various forms should be examined, as items about the same family may be found under different spellings.

The register of deaths in the South Parish, between 1710 and 1771, referred to in the Historical Manual of the South Church published in 1859, has not been found.

The town clerk's records, Book II, 1701-1800, are badly worn, and portions of many of the entries in the first hundred pages are missing, thus accounting for the frequent use of the word torn and the dash.

The gravestone records are from copies of gravestones nade in October, 1864 by Alfred Poore, M. D., and now in possession of the Essex Institute.

3

« PreviousContinue »