The Light Years

Front Cover
Pan Books, 1991 - English fiction - 418 pages
0 Reviews
En engelsk families overklasseliv med tjenestefolk og skrøbeligt sammenhold i de sidste år før 2. verdenskrig.

What people are saying - Write a review

The light years

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

In 1937 the three Cazelet brothers gather their respective families and head for the family manse in the heart of Sussex for their annual summer holiday. Howard is expert at creating detailed physical ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1991)

Elizabeth Jane Howard was born in London, England on March 26, 1923. She was educated by governesses at home. Her first novel, The Beautiful Visit, was published in 1950 and won the John Llewellyn Rhys prize. Her other works include the series the Cazalet Chronicles, Falling, and the autobiography Slipstream. The first two novels of the Cazalet Chronicles, The Light Years and Marking Time, became the BBC TV series The Cazalets in 2001. The other books in the series are Confusion, Casting Off, and All Change. She also edited several anthologies and wrote short stories, articles, television plays, film scripts and a book on food with Fay Maschler. She was made a CBE in 2000. She died on January 2, 2014 at the age of 90.

Bibliographic information