The Weekend Was Murder

Front Cover
Random House Childrens Books, 1994 - Juvenile Fiction - 193 pages
3 Reviews
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Weekend was Murder! from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.

† † † † Mary Elizabeth can't wait for the weekend to begin at the Ridley Hotel, where a famous mystery writer and a troupe of actors are coming to enact a murder mystery for 150 amateur sleuths. Mary Elizabeth's role is to discover the "body" in Room 1927, which is supposed to be haunted. But nothing prepares her for the real body she finds in Room 1927...

"A masterfully constructed, engaging read that...[is] ingeniously plotted, fast-paced and lighthearted." -Publishers Weekly

"Fans will love wading through the myriad details and placing bets on the outcome." -Kirkus Reviews

"Mystery fans will...enjoy trying to solve the various crimes." -School Library Journal


From the Trade Paperback edition.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - simply00complex - LibraryThing

Joan Lowery Nixon's books are either murder mystery or ghost story. This was both. Someone was murdered in a haunted hotel suite and the two were separate mysteries. This book had a good premise but it was not delivered as well as it could have been. My advice is to skip this one. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - sports-star - LibraryThing

This book is definatly 5 star. Liz is working her summer job at the Ridly Hotel when they held a murder mystery weekend. that is a fake murder that people try to solve. When Liz goes into the scene of ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
13
Section 3
23
Copyright

13 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for†The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore,†The Sťance,†The Name of the Game Was Murder, and†The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.


From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliographic information