The Subtle Knife

Front Cover
Scholastic, 1998 - Boys - 341 pages
Book 2 in His Dark Materials series A New York Times Bestseller A Publishers Weekly BestsellerThe epic adventure continues as Lyra finds herself in the beautiful, haunted world of Citta gazze. But here she encounters an ally. Like Lyra, Will Parry has spent his childhood playing games. Unlike hers, though, his have been deadly serious. Soon Will and Lyra uneasily embark on a great adventure and head into great tragedy. An Accelerated Reader(R) title

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - stephanie_M - LibraryThing

Another wonderful audiobook by Randome house audiobook. Please listen to this novel (after the first one) as soon as you can. Philip Pullman as the narrator Joanna Wyatt as Lyra, Stephen Webb as Will ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Beth3511 - LibraryThing

Didn't like it quite as much as the first. Felt like there was more philosophy and exposition. The book didn't move as quickly as the first book. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1998)

Philip Pullman was born in Norwich on October 19, 1946. He graduated from Oxford University with a degree in English. He taught at various Oxford middle schools and at Westminster College for eight years. He is the author of many acclaimed novels, plays, and picture books for readers of all ages. His first book, Count Karlstein, was published in 1982. His other books include: The Firework-Maker's Daughter; I Was a Rat!; Clockwork or All Wound Up; and The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ. He is also the author of the Sally Lockhart series and the His Dark Materials Trilogy. He is the author of The Book of Dust, volume 1. He has received numerous awards including the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Fiction Award for Northern Lights (The Golden Compass), the Whitbread Book of the Year Award for The Amber Spyglass, the Eleanor Farjeon Award for children's literature in 2002, and the Astrid Lindgren Award in 2005.

Bibliographic information