Rebels of Babylon: A Novel

Front Cover
Harper Collins, 2005 - Fiction - 309 pages
0 Reviews

New Orleans, 1863 -- occupied and impoverished, yet defiant. The "embarrassed" corpse of a Yankee heiress washes up on a levee. Citizens disappear in the night from the alleys of the French Quarter. Tales of ritual murder taunt the authorities. And the uneasy truce between the city's fiery inhabitants -- newly freed slaves and their bankrupt former masters, voodoo priestesses, smugglers, and unwelcome Union troops -- stretches to the breaking point.

Hailed by the Denver Post as a "memorable, magnificent character," Civil War detective Abel Jones arrives to investigate the death of a young crusader and finds himself facing fantastic rumors of the resurrected dead as the city approaches hysteria and riot.

Rebels of Babylon is the dark and rich sixth adventure in the Abel Jones mystery series -- winner of the prestigious Hammett and Herodotus awards. From the tour de force mayhem of its opening scene to its stunning climax, Owen Parry's latest novel pays tribute to the great literary traditions of New Orleans, a city that knows how to keep its secrets.

Praised as "a writer dropped from heaven" by Kirkus Reviews and famed for his uncanny ability to bring the past to life, Owen Parry leads us from the intrigue-haunted alleys of the French Quarter to the mysteries of nearby plantations and bayous as the prim Methodist hero so beloved by fans of the series encounters the startling power of superstition -- and the deadly force of greed.


What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Enviably inspired, Parry (Bold Sons of Erin, 2003, etc.) fills pages with goldenrod sentences that nod and dazzle, as though he were a writer dropped from heaven.In a Babylonian mash of tongues and ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7
Section 8
Section 12
Section 13
Section 14
Section 15
Section 16
Section 17
Section 18
Section 19

Section 9
Section 10
Section 11
Section 20
Section 21

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Owen Parry is the author of a series of critically acclaimed, prizewinning novels set during the American Civil War: Faded Coat of Blue, Shadows of Glory, Call Each River Jordan, and Honor's Kingdom. He has also published a collection of holiday tales for adults, Our Simple Gifts. Born in the anthracite region of Pennsylvania, Parry lives and writes in northern Virginia.

Bibliographic information