A Matter of Honor

Front Cover
Linden Press/Simon & Schuster, 1986 - Fiction - 399 pages
149 Reviews
Featuring a bonus interview with the authorAdisgraced British colonel bequeaths a mysterious letter to his only son. The moment Adam Scott opens the yellowing envelope, he sets into motion a deadly chain of events.Within days, he's running for his life, pursued by the KGB, the CIA, and his own countrymen. Powerful men plot his destruction and Adam is betrayed and abandoned even by those he holds most dear. When he finally realizes what he possesses, he's even more determined to protect it, for it's more than a matter of life and death it's a matter of honor.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Great book...Lord Archer is a gifted writer - Goodreads
Nothing special, but the premise is memorable. - Goodreads
Well written, good story line, good characterization. - Goodreads
good old-fashioned spy novel - liked the premise - Goodreads
Not his best artwork, but still one of my favorites. - Goodreads
The plot setup was intriguing and off we went. - Goodreads

Review: A Matter of Honor

User Review  - Harry - Goodreads

Interesting suspenseful story. As is common with this genre, most of the action takes place during the last 50 pages of the book. And, unfortunately, this is where the plot needs the most development. Read full review

Review: A Matter of Honor

User Review  - Abhishek Jain - Goodreads

Good Read full review

All 122 reviews »


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

23 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1986)

Jeffrey Archer was born on April 15, 1940, in London, England. After graduating from Brasenose College, Oxford, he founded his own company named Arrow Enterprises and promptly amassed a fortune. In 1969, he was elected to the House of Commons. A conservative Member of Parliament, he was, at the age of 29, the youngest member at that time. While in Parliament, he invested in a corporation and lost his fortune because of embezzlement. Devastated and facing financial ruin, he recounted his experiences in his book, Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less. The success of this book launched his writing career. His other works include Kane and Abel, Honor among Thieves, Shall We Tell the President?, A Quiver Full of Arrows, The Prodigal Daughter, and The Sins of the Father. He is also the author of The Clifton Chronicles series. He writes plays including Beyond Reasonable Doubt and The Accused. He was sentenced to four years imprisonment because of perjury and conspiracy to pervert the course of justice, and was released in July 2003, having served two years. He published three volumes of his Prison Diary: Hell, Purgatory, and Heaven.

Bibliographic information