The Gates of Janus: Serial Killing and Its Analysis

Front Cover
Feral House, 2001 - True Crime - 305 pages
38 Reviews
Introduction by Colin Wilson Certain to be one of the most controversial books of the year, this is a full-length work by Ian Brady who, along with Myra Hindley, was responsible for 'The Moors Murders' in the early 1960s. Written after Colin Wilson suggested that he analyse serial murder and come to terms with the crimes he committed, Brady's work is both psychological and philosophical and is based upon his readings, observations and life story. An extraordinary work that provides an insight into the mind of a criminal as never before.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Gates of Janus: Serial Killing and Its Analysis

User Review  - Mauoijenn ~ *Mouthy Jenn* ~ - Goodreads

Excellent book on the subject of SERIAL KILLERS. I have never read a book such detailed and in depth on the subject, and I have read my fair share on serial killers, making my local librarians wonder about me. Read full review

Review: The Gates of Janus: Serial Killing and Its Analysis

User Review  - Goodreads

Incredible and powerful and highly disturbing. Read full review


Foreword by Dr Alan Keightley
The Gates of Janus by Ian Brady
Chapter Three

11 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

Colin Wilson was born on June 26, 1931 in Leicester, England. He attended a local technical school, where he did well in physics and chemistry, and left at 16 to work in a wool factory. Before becoming a writer, he worked as a laboratory assistant, tax clerk, laborer and hospital porter. His first book, The Outsider, was published in 1956 when he was 24 years old. During his lifetime, he wrote more than 100 works on a wide variety of subjects including philosophy, religion, occult and supernatural phenomenea, music, sex, crime and critical theory. His other works include Religion and the Rebel, The Age of Defeat, Ritual in the Dark, The Strength to Dream, Origins of the Sexual Impulse, The Occult, Alien Dawn, Dreaming to Some Purpose, The Angry Years: The Rise and Fall of the Angry Young Men, and Super Consciousness. His biographies include works on Bernard Shaw, David Lindsay, Herman Hesse, Wilhelm Reich, Jorge Luis Borges, Ken Russell, Rudolph Steiner, Aleister Crowley, and P. D. Ouspensky. Wilson died on December 5, 2013 at the age of 82.

Bibliographic information