A Stillness at Appomattox: The Army of the Potomac Trilogy

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Nov 17, 2010 - History - 448 pages
2 Reviews
When first published in 1953, Bruce Catton, our foremost Civil War historian was awarded both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award for excellence in nonfiction.  This final volume of The Army of the Potomac trilogy relates the final year of the Civil War.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RobertP - LibraryThing

The best history out there on the Army of the Potomac. It is a literate and wide-ranging look at the history of that Army. It also pulls few punches. More than most Civil War history, it drifts into the social and political realms, vice the purely military. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ksmyth - LibraryThing

The Army of the Potomac series chronicles the story of that army from its beginnings under George B. McClellan through its various commanders, to its use as the chief instrument in the defeat of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Catton was Senior Editor at American Heritage. He was one of our foremost Civil War Historians.

Bibliographic information