The Angel Maker

Front Cover
Penguin, Dec 30, 2008 - Fiction - 352 pages
11 Reviews
A literary page-turner about one man's macabre ambition to create life-and secure immortality

The village of Wolfheim is a quiet little place until the geneticist Dr. Victor Hoppe returns after an absence of nearly twenty years. The doctor brings with him his infant children-three identical boys all sharing a disturbing disfigurement. He keeps them hidden away until Charlotte, the woman who is hired to care for them, begins to suspect that the triplets-and the good doctor- aren't quite what they seem. As the villagers become increasingly suspicious, the story of Dr. Hoppe's past begins to unfold, and the shocking secrets that he has been keeping are revealed. A chilling story that explores the ethical limits of science and religion, The Angel Maker is a haunting tale in the tradition of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein. Brought to life by internationally bestselling author Stefan Brijs, this eerie tale promises to get under readers' skin.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0

Review: The Angel Maker

User Review  - Nicole - Goodreads

I didn't find this book terrifying until all of a sudden I did. It is, at times, a slow paced book filled with a lot of information, but I still felt engaged throughout. I will say that all of the ... Read full review

Review: The Angel Maker

User Review  - Ethan - Goodreads

This is a story that truly marked me. While the title of the story (the creator of Angels) and the story itself give a sense of innocence and purity, you soon enough discover what lies beneath the ... Read full review

Contents

Chapter 2
Chapter 7
Chapter 9
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information