The Angel Maker

Front Cover
Penguin, Dec 30, 2008 - Fiction - 352 pages
7 Reviews
A literary page-turner about one man's macabre ambition to create life-and secure immortality

The village of Wolfheim is a quiet little place until the geneticist Dr. Victor Hoppe returns after an absence of nearly twenty years. The doctor brings with him his infant children-three identical boys all sharing a disturbing disfigurement. He keeps them hidden away until Charlotte, the woman who is hired to care for them, begins to suspect that the triplets-and the good doctor- aren't quite what they seem. As the villagers become increasingly suspicious, the story of Dr. Hoppe's past begins to unfold, and the shocking secrets that he has been keeping are revealed. A chilling story that explores the ethical limits of science and religion, The Angel Maker is a haunting tale in the tradition of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein. Brought to life by internationally bestselling author Stefan Brijs, this eerie tale promises to get under readers' skin.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - CBJames - LibraryThing

I confess that I've always been fond of remainder table books, those books that wouldn't sell at all or didn't sell enough that you find spread on a large table somewhere near the cash register or in ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JPWickwire - LibraryThing

Haunting. Thrilling. This book will, no joke, keep you turning pages long into the night. What starts out as a seemingly innocent story quickly takes a turn for the dark and doesn't come back out. Dr ... Read full review

Contents

Chapter 2
Chapter 7
Chapter 9
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Stefan Brijs was born in Belgium in 1969. He is the author of four novels. The Angel Maker is his first book to be translated into English.

Bibliographic information