Best Newspaper Writing: Winners: The American Society of Newspaper Editors Competition

Front Cover
Christopher Scanlan
Modern Media Institute., 2000 - Language Arts & Disciplines - 409 pages
0 Reviews
Best Newspaper Writing 2000 celebrates the winners of the American Society of Newspaper Editors (ASNE) Distinguished Writing Awards, including the Jesse Laventhol Prizes, created to honor deadline reporting.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


NonDeadline Writing
Anne Hull
Deadline News Reporting

11 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2000)

Christopher Scanlan is a senior faculty member at the Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Fla., and director of the National Writers Workshops. For two decades he was an award-winning feature writer for the St. Petersburg Times, a national correspondent for Knight-Ridder Newspapers, and a reporter for the Providence Journal. Christopher produces Chip on Your Shoulder, a writing advice column on Poynter's Web site ( His articles, fiction writing, and essays have appeared in numerous media outlets.

Katharine Fair is an award-winning advertising copywriter and a freelance writer.

Bibliographic information