The Mill on the Floss

Front Cover
Joe Books Ltd, May 27, 2014 - Fiction - 576 pages

The Mill on the Floss is the story of Maggie Tulliver's search for love, and acceptance by her family and community, and of her need for intellectual and spiritual growth.


Selected pages


Chapter IOutside Dorlcote Mill
Chapter IIMr Tulliver of Dorlcote Mill Declares His Resolution about
Chapter IIIMr Riley Gives His Advice Concerning a School
Tom Chapter IVTom Is Expected
Chapter VTom Comes Home
Chapter VIThe Aunts and Uncles Are Coming
Chapter VIIEnter the Aunts and Uncles
Chapter VIIIMr Tulliver Shows His Weaker Side
Chapter IIThe Torn Nest Is Pierced by the Thorns
Chapter IIIA Voice from the Past
Chapter IIn the Red Deeps
Chapter IIAunt Glegg Learns the Breadth of Bobs Thumb
Chapter IIIThe Wavering Balance
Chapter IVAnother LoveScene
Chapter VThe Cloven Tree
Chapter VIThe HardWon Triumph

Chapter IXTo Garum Firs
Chapter XMaggie Behaves Worse Than She Expected
Chapter XIMaggie Tries to Run away from Her Shadow
Chapter XIIMr and Mrs Glegg at Home
Chapter XIIIMr Tulliver Further Entangles the Skein of Life
SchoolTime Chapter IToms First Half
Chapter IIThe Christmas Holidays
Chapter IIIThe New Schoolfellow
Chapter IVThe Young Idea
Chapter VMaggies Second Visit
Chapter VIA LoveScene
Chapter VIIThe Golden Gates Are Passed
Chapter IWhat Had Happened at Home
Chapter IIMrs Tullivers Teraphim or Household Gods
Chapter IIIThe Family Council
Chapter IVA Vanishing Gleam
Chapter VITending to Refute the Popular Prejudice against
Chapter VIIHow a Hen Takes to Stratagem
Chapter VIIIDaylight on the Wreck
Chapter IXAn Item Added to the Family Register
Chapter IA Variation of Protestantism Unknown to Bossuet
Chapter VIIA Day of Reckoning
Chapter IA Duet in Paradise
Chapter IIFirst Impressions
Chapter IIIConfidential Moments
Chapter IVBrother and Sister
Chapter VShowing That Tom Had Opened the Oyster
Chapter VIIllustrating the Laws of Attraction
Chapter VIIPhilip Reenters
Chapter VIIIWakem in a New Light
Chapter IXCharity in FullDress
Chapter XThe Spell Seems Broken
Chapter XIIn the Lane
Chapter XIIA Family Party
Chapter XIIIBorne Along by the Tide
Chapter XIVWaking
Chapter IThe Return to the Mill
Chapter IISt Oggs Passes Judgment
Chapter IIIShowing That Old Acquaintances Are Capable of Surprising
Chapter IVMaggie and Lucy
Chapter VThe Last Conflict Conclusion About the Author Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

George Eliot was the pseudonym for Mary Anne Evans, one of the leading writers of the Victorian era, who published seven major novels and several translations during her career. She started her career as a sub-editor for the left-wing journal The Westminster Review, contributing politically charged essays and reviews before turning her attention to novels. Among Eliot's best-known works are Adam Bede, The Mill on the Floss, Silas Marner, Middlemarch and Daniel Deronda, in which she explores aspects of human psychology, focusing on the rural outsider and the politics of small-town life. Eliot died in 1880.

Bibliographic information