Mariana

Front Cover
Sourcebooks, Inc., Apr 1, 2012 - Fiction - 384 pages
27 Reviews
A haunting, paranormal romance from a Romantic Times Readers Choice and RITA Award-winning author, a New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author

When Julia Beckett moves into the beautiful old farmhouse, she soon discovers she's not alone there.

"Tread lightly, she is near."

She encounters haunting remnants of a beautiful young woman who lived and loved there centuries ago. She finds herself transported into 17th-century England, and into the world of Mariana.

Each time Julia travels back, she becomes more enthralled with the past... until she realizes Mariana's life is eclipsing her own. She must lay the past to rest or risk losing the chance for happiness in her own time.

A modern gothic historical fiction with elements of time travel, reincarnation, and romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Susanna Kearsley.

Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Daphne Du Maurier will want to join Julia and Mariana on their journeys to love, past and present.

Other great books by Susanna Kearsley:
The Winter Sea Winner of an RT Reviewers Choice Award, RITA finalist, finalist for the UK's Romantic Novel of the Year Award
The Firebird RITA Winner, Paranormal Romance
The Rose Garden Winner of an RT Reviewers Choice Award, RITA finalist

Mariana was the winner of the Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize, and Suzanna has had books selected for the Mystery Guild, was a finalist for the UK's Romantic Novel of the Year Award, and won a National Readers' Choice Award and a RITA.

What readers are saying about Mariana:

"This is one of those books that can be read and reread and not lose its magic."

"a beautifully woven and ENCHANTING story."

"Her bending of time and place to weave them into unique plots is fascinating"

"Well written, thought provoking and genuine."

"I haven't found a book that has touched me so since reading Katherine and Green Darkness by Anya Seton. Mariana is UTTERLY CAPTIVATING!"

"reminded me of one of the fine gothics, Mary Stewart or Barbara Michaels or of Hitchcock in a non-murderous mood."

"my go-to for light Gothic dual-time historical fiction / romance."

"all the PERFECT delicious components to a great read."

What reviewers are saying about Mariana:

"Mariana is, quite simply, AMAZING." - The Thoughts of a Girl

"a novel full of mystery, intrigue, and timeless romance." A Navel Affair

"Romantic, passionate, and bittersweet, this intelligent, tension-laden story will sweep you away." - Historical Novels Review

What everyone is saying about Susanna Kearsley:

"Kearsley blends history, romance and a bit of the supernatural into a glittering, BEWITCHING tale."-Kirkus

"A MAGICAL, not to be missed read." -RT Book Reviews Top Pick, 4 1⁄2stars

"A CREATIVE TOUR DE FORCE. Sometimes an author catches lightning in a bottle, and Susanna Kearsley has done just that." - New York Journal of Books

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lkernagh - LibraryThing

My first Kearsley read and definitely not my last. A contemporary/historical fiction read with a time travel and ghostly spirits angle to it. A romance story without being one of those annoyingly ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Romonko - LibraryThing

I was looking forward to reading this book even though I knew at the outset that it's not in a genre I normally read. I thought it would be different enough and interesting enough to make it palatable ... Read full review

Contents

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 20
Chapter 21
Chapter 22
Chapter 23
Chapter 24
Chapter 25
Chapter 26
Chapter 27

Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 28
Chapter 29
Chapter 30
Chapter 31
Chapter 32
Chapter 33
Chapter 34
Authors Note
Reading Group Guide
About the Author
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Susanna Kearsley's writing has been compared to Mary Stewart, Daphne Du Maurier, and Diana Gabaldon. Her books have been translated into several languages, selected for the Mystery Guild, condensed for Reader's Digest, and optioned for film. She lives in Canada near the shores of Lake Ontario.

Bibliographic information