The Forest of Souls: A Walk Through the Tarot

Front Cover
Llewellyn Worldwide, 2002 - Body, Mind & Spirit - 278 pages
1 Review
Take a Magical Mystery Tour.

Join celebrated Tarot author, artist, and scholar Rachel Pollack on a magical walk through the mysteries, archetypes, and dream-like images of the Tarot. In the tradition of Carl Jung and Joseph Campbell, Rachel draws upon symbols, myths, and folk tales both ancient and modern, to illuminate the spiritual truths behind the Tarot's symbols.

The Forest of Souls unfolds like a dream, in a series of musings upon the confluence of the sacred and the mundane. How can a simple deck of 78 cards become keys unlocking life's greatest secrets? While the most common use of Tarot is for divination, Rachel shows how to use the cards for readings of an entirely different nature. Asking improbable, even impossible questions, she plays with the sacred possibilities and answers that the Tarot gives us. What nourishes my soul? What is soul? What is Tarot? What plan did God follow to create the universe?

We now know that the Tarot was almost certainly not originally designed to include Kabbalistic and other occult correspondences. Yet such systems can greatly enhance our understanding of and relationship with the cards. Embracing paradox  and non-linear thinking allows us to push the boundaries of the known and venture into the unknown. It is in that sacred space that we open ourselves to wonder and mystery.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - darcysharman - LibraryThing

I just read this book for the second time. I find the second half--starting at about chapter 9--much more engaging than the first, probably because the first half focuses so much on Christianity and ... Read full review

Contents

Myths of Origin
1
Other Books by Rachel Pollack
2
Gambling with the Moon Divination and Freedom
15
The Instrument of Our Wisdom
27
The TwoPart Question A Reading on Divination
53
Some Jewish Thoughts on Tarot
61
The Tarot Before Creation
79
Gods Reading
103
A Secret Woman 2002
153
Becoming a Reader
155
Tarot Tarot Let Down Your Hair
169
The Woman with the Camel
189
Opening the Heart A Journey Across an Abyss
201
A Short Leap to the Place of the Fool
237
A Final Gamble
261
Recommended Reading
269

Easter 2001 A Reading for the Resurrection
123
Complete Illustrated Guide to the Tarot 1999
131
Some Kabbalist and Dream Thoughts on Tarot
137

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (2002)

Rachel  is considered one of the World’s foremost authorities on the modern interpretation of the Tarot. She is also a poet, an award-winning novelist, and a Tarot card and comic book artist. She has published 12 books on the Tarot, including 78 Degrees of Wisdom (Thorsons, 1998), considered a modern classic and “the Bible of Tarot reading.” Its’ marriage of common sense, wide-ranging knowledge, and esoteric awareness have inspired many tens of thousands of readers worldwide to a deeper knowledge of the Tarot.
She is a member of the American Tarot Association, the International Tarot Society, and the Tarot Guild of Australia. With fellow Tarot author Mary Greer, she has taught at the famed Omega Institute for the past twelve years. She has been conferred the title of “Tarot Grand Master” by the Tarot Certification Board, an independent body located in Las Vegas, Nevada.
As a fiction writer, Pollack has been bestowed many honors and awards, among them the famed Arthur C. Clarke Award for Science Fiction (for Unquenchable Fire) and the World Fantasy Award (for Godmother Night). She is a recommended member of PEN International, and has written for numerous publications.

Bibliographic information