Life Class: The Selected Memoirs of Diana Athill

Front Cover
Granta Books, Oct 1, 2010 - Authors, English - 784 pages
8 Reviews
Diana Athill, born in 1917, made her reputation as a writer with the candour of her memoirs; through her commitment, in her words, 'to understand, to be aware, to touch the truth'. In a celebration of her life and writing, Life Class brings together four of her best-loved memoirs in one volume, spanning her very English childhood, her life and loves during the Second World War, her publishing career at André Deutsch, and her reflections on old age. Introduced by Ian Jack, Diana Athill's selected memoirs are a remarkable testament to an unusual and fully lived life.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Life Class: The Selected Memoirs

User Review  - Dierregi - Goodreads

I totally loved this book. It is composed by 4 separate "memoirs" but there is very little repetition. I do have the utmost admiration for Ms. Athill and for her accomplishments. Her writing is ... Read full review

Review: Life Class: The Selected Memoirs

User Review  - Nirmal - Goodreads

This is the collection of 4 memoirs of Diana Athill. 1. Yesterday Morning (about her growing up years ) 2. Instead of a letter ( about Oxford, initial love and engagement, eventual cancelling of ... Read full review

About the author (2010)

Diana Athill was born in 1917. She is the author of Instead of a Letter, After A Funeral, Don't Look at Me Like That, Make Believe, Stet and Yesterday Morning, all published by Granta Books. She lives in London.

Bibliographic information