In the Night Kitchen

Front Cover
Harper & Row, 1970 - Baking - 40 pages
321 Reviews
"The second in the trilogy which began with the best selling Where the Wild Things Are Sendak's hero Mickey falls through the dark into the Night Kitchen where three fat bakers are making the morning cake. So begins an intoxicating dream fantasy, described by the artist himself as 'a fantasy ten feet deep in reality'."

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: In the Night Kitchen

User Review  - Goodreads

This is my second banned/ challenged books review: So this book is on the banned/ challenged books list and due to the frontal nudity of the little boy in some of the photos, I can agree that this is ... Read full review

Review: In the Night Kitchen

User Review  - Goodreads

A young boy named Mickey sleeps in his bed when he suddenly drifts into a surreal world called the "Night Kitchen". He falls into a giant mixing pot that contains the batter for the "morning cake ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1970)

Charlotte Zolotow (Author)
Charlotte Zolotow was born in Norfolk, Virginia in 1915. She was a renowned American author, poet, editor and publisher of many books for children.

As well as authoring over 60 books for children, she worked as an editor at HarperCollins and edited many well-known authors such as Paul Fleischman, Paul Zindel, Mary Rodgers, Robert Lipsyte and Francesca Lia Block.

She lived in Hastings-on-Hudson, New York, where she died, aged 98.

Maurice Sendak (Illustrator)
Maurice Sendak was born in Brooklyn, New York. He began by illustrating other authors' books for children, but the first book that he both wrote and illustrated was Kenny's Window, published in 1956. In his lifetime, he illustrated over 80 books, and received many awards, including the 1964 Caldecott Medal for Where the Wild Things Are. In 1970 he was the first American to win the Hans Christian Andersen Illustrator's Medal. He passed away in May 2012.

Bibliographic information