Birdcage: A Novel

Front Cover
W. Morrow, 1979 - Ex-nuns - 233 pages
0 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

13 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1979)

Victor Canning was primarily a writer of thrillers, and wrote his many books under the pseudonyms Julian Forest and Alan Gould. Among his immediate contemporaries were Eric Ambler, Alistair Maclean and Hammond Innes.

Canning was a prolific writer throughout his career, which began young: he had sold several short stories by the age of nineteen and his first novel, "Mr Finchley Discovers His England" (1934) was published when he was twenty-three. Canning also wrote for children: his "The Runaways" trilogy was adapted for US children's television.

Canning's later thrillers were darker and more complex than his earlier work and received great critical acclaim. "The Rainbird Pattern" was awarded the CWA Silver Dagger in 1973 and nominated for an Edgar award in 1974.

In 1976 "The Rainbird Pattern" was transformed by Alfred Hitchcock into the comic film "The Family Plot", which was to be Hitchcock's last film. Several of Canning's other novels including "Golden Salamander" (1949) were also made into films during Canning's lifetime.

Bibliographic information