The Ice at the Bottom of the World: Stories

Front Cover
Anchor Books, 1991 - Fiction - 144 pages
With a distinctive and original voice, Mark Richard's stories capture characters on the fringe of society, and illuminate the goodness at the heart of their Southern, down-and-out lies. Full of startling images and harrowing epiphanies, The Ice at the Bottom of the World is a collection by a true master of his craft. In these ten stories, Mark Richard, winner of the 1990 PEN/Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award, emerges as the heir apparent to Mark Twain, Flannery O'Connor, and William Faulkner.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - reganrule - LibraryThing

Mark Richard's voice in this gut-punch collection of stories recalls Breece D'J Pancake's Appalachian darkness (but not its pacing), and McCarthy's inebriated river-sloshed wordplay in Suttree. Of the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - blanderson - LibraryThing

2nd reading: a brilliant, if uneven,collection. Best stories: Strays, Her Favorite Story, On the Rope, Ice at the Bottom of the World, and The Theory of Man. The rest are okay, either just missing the ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1991)

Mark Richard is the author of two award-winning short story collections, The Ice at the Bottom of the World and Charity, and the novel Fishboy. His short stories and journalism have appeared in the New York Times, The New Yorker, Harper's, Esquire, Vogue, and GQ. He is the recipient of the PEN/Hemingway Award, a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, and a Whiting Foundation Writer's Award. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and their three sons.

Bibliographic information