Sports Illustrated the Baseball Book

Front Cover
Time Home Entertainment, Incorporated, Oct 17, 2006 - Sports & Recreation - 294 pages
13 Reviews

Continuing in the tradition of Sports Illustrateds 50th Anniversary Book and The Football Book comes a spectacular celebration of baseball that will be treasured by fans of the National Pastime.With the same kind of unforgettable photographs and award-winning writing that propelled The Football Book to surpass the sales of the 50th Anniversary Book, a New York Times best-seller, this lavish coffee-table volume brings to life the legendary players, the classic action and the great traditions of the Summer Game.In 294 oversized pages, The Baseball Book commemorates the epic teams and characters, the crucial plays and classic games, the personalities and performances and artifacts that have kept baseball at the heart of American sports for more than a century.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0

Review: Sports Illustrated The Baseball Book

User Review  - Josh tully - Goodreads

I thought this book was very well put together. it is the best baseball book i have ever read. this is a book about the past present and future of the American pastime, baseball. there are many entreating story's about the best in the game. Read full review

Review: Sports Illustrated The Baseball Book

User Review  - Brian Leclair - Goodreads

It's a very nice coffee table book -- great pictures and interesting vignettes about baseball history. Read full review

About the author (2006)

Pete Dexter is the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Paris Trout and five other novels: God's Pocket, Deadwood, Brotherly Love, The Paperboy, and Train. He has been a columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News and the Sacramento Bee, and has contributed to many magazines, including Esquire, Sports Illustrated, and Playboy. His screenplays include Rush and Mulholland Falls. Dexter was born in Michigan and raised in Georgia, Illinois, and eastern South Dakota. He lives on an island off the coast of Washington.

Rob Fleder was executive editor of Sports Illustrated and the editor of SI Books during his twenty years at Time Inc. He was the editor of Sports Illustrated 50th Anniversary Book, Sports Illustrated: The Baseball Book, Sports Illustrated: The Football Book, and Hate Mail from Cheerleaders, among other New York Times bestsellers.

Bibliographic information