The historic town of Clifton, Virginia, is an enchanting relic of a time past. This quarter-mile-square town of 225 inhabitants has seen little change since the early 20th century. Twenty-seven miles from the nation's capital, this little gem of yesterday is often missed by busy commuters. Clifton was originally a Native American hunting ground, then a large plantation, and eventually became known as Devereux Station, named for J. H. Devereux, overseer of the Union army's railroad construction. Harrison Otis settled here and built the handsome Clifton Hotel. Local hot springs, shops, lumber industry, schools, and churches soon created a thriving, progressive area of commerce. Originally named Clifton Station, Clifton was later incorporated in 1902. It was the first community in Fairfax County with a black Baptist church, electricity, and a high school, and it has hosted visitors as varied as Presidents Hayes and Garfield, actress Helen Hayes, First Lady Nancy Reagan, and Sleepless in Seattle author Jeff Arch. Clifton has been and is still a gentle, picturesque village.
What people are saying - Write a review
We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.
100th anniversary Acacia Lodge acres Alexandria Author's collection Ayre Barrett families building built Bull Run Chapel citizens Civil Clifton area Clifton Baptist Church Clifton Elementary School Clifton High School Clifton Hotel Clifton Presbyterian Church Clifton resident Clifton School Clifton Station Confederate Courtesy Clifton Elementary Courtesy Jack Smith Courtesy Karns Courtesy Library Courtesy Virginia Room Devereux Station Ed Parker Fairfax City Library Fairfax County Fairfax County Board Fairfax Herald Ford Fourth of July George girls Heart in Hand Hoose House Ivakota Farm Jennifer Chesley John Singleton Mosby Karns and Weaver Kate Waller Barrett Kincheloe Lee Hubbard left to right Library of Congress lived Lorton Reformatory lumber Lynne Garvey-Hodge Main Street Manassas Marla Hembree Mosby Native Americans NFCM Otis Payne pictured Popes Head Creek Primitive Baptist renovations Robin Beard Sangster Station served shown Smith and Barrett town Union army Union Mills Wayne Nickum Weaver families Webb women