The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Jun 1, 2010 - Business & Economics - 368 pages
5 Reviews

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

THE UPSIDE OF IRRATIONALITY: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

The follow-up to the author's bestselling Predictably Irrational (2008).In his previous book, Ariely (Behavioral Economics/Duke Univ.) discussed how the human tendency toward irrational decision ... Read full review

AMAZING

User Review  - sam paris - Borders

Want to get out of your daily mundane life? It is interesting and fun. For anyone who works a 9-5 schedule, this book will inspire you to try something out of the ordinary just to see the results. This book really kickstarted my life! Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

Bibliographic information