Alarms and Discursions

Front Cover
Echo Library, Aug 1, 2006 - Literary Collections - 108 pages
0 Reviews
1911. G.K. Chesterton was a journalist, poet, novelist, playwright, debater, and Catholic apologist in the early twentieth century. Alarms and Discursions is a collection of his essays. Partial Contents: The Fading Fireworks; On Gargoyles; The Nightmare; A Drama of Dolls; The Appetite; Cheese; The Furrows; The Futurists; The Glory of Grey; The Anarchist; The Three Kinds of Men; The Wheel; The Flat Freak; The Garden of the Sea; The High Plains; and A Romance of the Marshes. See other titles by this author available from Kessinger Publishing.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2006)

Gilbert Keith Chesterton was born in London, England, in 1874. He began his education at St Paul's School, and later went on to study art at the Slade School, and literature at University College in London. Chesterton wrote a great deal of poetry, as well as works of social and literary criticism. Among his most notable books are The Man Who Was Thursday, a metaphysical thriller, and The Everlasting Man, a history of humankind's spiritual progress. After Chesterton converted to Catholicism in 1922, he wrote mainly on religious topics. Chesterton is most known for creating the famous priest-detective character Father Brown, who first appeared in "The Innocence of Father Brown." Chesterton died in 1936 at the age of 62.

Bibliographic information