The Christmas List: A Novel

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Oct 6, 2009 - Fiction - 368 pages
21 Reviews
A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and Finding Noel. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.

Dear Reader,

When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate.

What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers.

As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy.

Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas -- a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts.

Merry Christmas
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - BookConcierge - LibraryThing

Audio book read by John Dossett 1* I know that Evans’ works are hugely popular, and I feel as if I’m dissing a saint. But really … this is so maudlin and formulaic. Rich, ruthless businessman is ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - KamGeb - LibraryThing

It was a well written fun book. It was very predictable and if you thought about it too much there were a lot of problems with the plot. But still it was a fun read. Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
7
Section 3
25
Section 4
33
Section 5
49
Section 6
55
Section 7
59
Section 8
63
Section 25
183
Section 26
193
Section 27
199
Section 28
203
Section 29
213
Section 30
215
Section 31
229
Section 32
235

Section 9
69
Section 10
81
Section 11
87
Section 12
93
Section 13
99
Section 14
105
Section 15
113
Section 16
119
Section 17
129
Section 18
135
Section 19
143
Section 20
153
Section 21
161
Section 22
169
Section 23
173
Section 24
181
Section 33
241
Section 34
247
Section 35
251
Section 36
259
Section 37
271
Section 38
279
Section 39
287
Section 40
303
Section 41
309
Section 42
313
Section 43
325
Section 44
333
Section 45
339
Section 46
343
Section 47
345
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Richard Paul Evans is the #1 bestselling author of The Christmas Box. Each of his more than thirty novels has been a New York Times bestseller. There are more than thirty million copies of his books in print worldwide, translated into more than twenty-four languages. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the American Mothers Book Award, the Romantic Times Best Women’s Novel of the Year Award, the German Audience Gold Award for Romance, two Religion Communicators Council Wilbur Awards, the Washington Times Humanitarian of the Century Award and the Volunteers of America National Empathy Award. He lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with his wife, Keri, and their five children. You can learn more about Richard on Facebook at Facebook.com/RPEFans, or visit his website, RichardPaulEvans.com.

Bibliographic information