Brave New Pond

Front Cover
Random House, 2011 - Juvenile Fiction - 90 pages
3 Reviews
Introducing Squish--a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse! Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants, Dan Gutman's Weird School, and Jarrett Krosoczka's Lunch Lady.

He's baa-ack! It's a brand new school year for everyone's favorite AMOEBA! Will Squish finally get to sit with the cool kids at lunch? Will Pod stop the giant asteroid from destroying the world? Will the LEECHES be the end of Super Amoeba? And what makes cafeteria nachos so delicious anyway? Find out the answers to these questions and more in Squish's second electrifying, fast-paced adventure, Squish #2: Brave New Pond--saving the world, one cell at a time!

Yowza! You can draw comics, too! Look in the back to find out how to draw one of the Squish characters! Also includes instructions for a sensational science experiment you can do at home! Shazam!

Here's what people are saying about everyone's favorite amoeba!

New York Times:
"An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy."

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews:
* "Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does."
 
The Bulletin:
"A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure."
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bp0128bd - LibraryThing

Second in the Squish graphic chapter books for kids. Will Pod and Squish fit in at school this year? Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Phill242 - LibraryThing

Second in the Squish graphic chapter books for kids. Will Pod and Squish fit in at school this year? Read full review

Contents

Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Brother-and-sister team MATTHEW -InkBoy- HOLM and JENNIFER -WriterGirl- HOLM are the dashing duo behind the award-winning Babymouse series. In addition to fighting the forces of evil, Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer.