Alice on the Outside

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, 1999 - Juvenile Fiction - 169 pages
3 Reviews
Alice likes her life, even though she realizes that change is on the way. She and her friends may develop separate interests and ideas, and sometimes she may find herself on the outside rather than inside her close circle, but the future looks good. Alice thinks she's ready for it.

Her first look at that future comes when Aunt Sally and Cousin Carol visit. This is Alice's chance to ask Carol what sex is really like for a woman. After all, her cousin was once married. But Alice discovers that sex and marriage are more complex than she had thought.

Sex is not the only area of life that turns out to be more difficult than Alice had expected. When her school observes a Consciousness Raising Week, Alice finds that prejudice is easier to acquire than to endure, especially when a new friend becomes the object of ridicule.

There is the Eighth Grade Semi-Formal to think about, however. It will be the crowning night of the school year. What could possibly go wrong? Not anything Alice could plan for. Sometimes, she finds, it is not planning that matters, but coping.

Alice is growing up. She is meeting new people, facing new problems, and giving readers new things to laugh and think about. She's experimenting with life and finding it can be awful -- but also, sometimes, very, very good.


What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - fingerpost - LibraryThing

Most of the Alice books have a primary story line, and several secondary story lines. Alice on the Outside was a little different. It seemed to have more secondary story lines, but no primary at all ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Emma_Manolis - LibraryThing

I really loved this installment and I'm unable to pinpoint why. I think overall it just teaches a very nice lesson about tolerance. Just because people are different than you that doesn't provide you ... Read full review


Teasing Sal
Pillow Talk
A Startling Announcement
Neck to Knees
Lori Haynes
A Slight Misunderstanding
Comparing Notes
Sunrise Sunset
The Dance

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor has been writing the Alice books since 1985, when The Agony of Alice was published. The reason these books are so hard (and so easy) to write, she says, is because she sees herself not only in Alice, but in Pamela and Elizabeth too. There were times in her growing-up years when she did incredibly stupid things, times she took chances and was proud of herself, and times she wished the day could be erased forever from memory.

She writes for both children and adults and is the author of over one hundred books, including The Agony of Alice; Alice in Rapture, Sort Of; Reluctantly Alice; All but Alice; Alice in April; Alice In-Between; Alice the Brave; Alice in Lace; Outrageously Alice; and Achingly Alice. Her book Shiloh was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1992.