Lord of Misrule: The Morganville Vampires

Front Cover
Penguin, Jan 6, 2009 - Young Adult Fiction - 256 pages
2 Reviews
In the college town of Morganville, vampires and humans coexist in (relatively) bloodless harmony. Then comes Bishop, the master vampire who threatens to abolish all order, revive the forces of the evil dead, and let chaos rule. But Bishop isn’t the only threat.

Violent black cyclone clouds hover, promising a storm of devastating proportions as student Claire Danvers and her friends prepare to defend Morganville against elements both natural and unnatural.

Watch a Windows Media trailer for this book.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

dang this is a good book

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I wanted to read Feast of Fools because The Morganville Vampire series has become an addiction lately, and I had to know what was happening with Claire the main character, how she would be selfless and help her friends. I also wanted to see more of her romance with Shane, because I think they are a great compliment to one another.
The usual cast of characters are in this one and I love them just as much as always. They are taking big risks because of what is at stake and it was hard to watch because as much as I am attached to them I was afraid of what could happen to them.
Bishop is back and to make things more complicated than ever alliances are shifting. Some want Amelie, and others believe the lies of Bishop, or don't want the peace. Some humans want all the vamps dead, some vampires want the humans to be even lower than current-- just prey with no power in the town.
The twists in this one had me nervous. Some people seem to have too much power and it is hard trusting people who have crossed them in the past. And so much on Myrnin's shoulders with his shifting moods and the degenerative disease that effects memory, strength and his self control with humans. Claire always seems to be able to draw out the best in him, and have the words to bring him off of the edge.
The ending as usual made me want to have the next one right away, and in this case, I had time to go ahead and get the next one.
Bottom Line: Loving the series, new issues arise and I am on edge of seat for how they'll prevail.

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Rachel Caine is the author of more than twenty novels, including the "Weather Warden" series. She was born at White Sands Missile Range, which people who know her say explains a lot. She has been an accountant, a professional musician, and an insurance investigator, and still carries on a secret identity in the corporate world. She and her husband, fantasy artist R. Cat Conrad, live in Texas with their iguanas, Popeye and Darwin; a mali uromastyx named (appropriately) O’Malley; and a leopard tortoise named Shelley (for the poet, of course).

Bibliographic information