Gimpel the Fool: And Other Stories

Front Cover
Macmillan, 1957 - Fiction - 205 pages
5 Reviews

Isaac Bashevis Singer's first collection of stories, Gimpel the Fool, is a landmark work that has attracted international acclaim since it was first published in 1957. In Saul Bellow's masterly translation, the title story follows the exploits of Gimpel, an ingenuous baker who is universally deceived but who declines to retaliate against his tormentors. Gimpel and the protagonists of the other stories in this volume all inhabit the distinctive pre–World War II ghettos of Poland and, beyond that, the larger world created by Singer's unforgettable prose.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kant1066 - LibraryThing

“Gimpel the Fool and Other Stories” was originally published in 1953, and contains ten short stories rife with Singer’s unique fictional voice – full of meditations on mortality, good, and evil ... Read full review

GIMPEL THE FOOL: And Other Stories

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Twelve short stories stem from Jewish life in Poland and, while most have a folk-legend quality, there are a few which have a contemporary setting. Ritualistic practice colors them all. Some have ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1957)

Isaac Bashevis Singer (1904-91) was the author of many novels, stories, and children's books. He received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1978.

Bibliographic information