The Rose of York: Love & War

Front Cover
End Table Books, 2003 - Fiction - 340 pages
Before Romeo and Juliet, there was Richard and Anne...
A true love story set in Malory's England, and the winner of eight awards.
The first novel in the multi-award winning ROSE OF YORK SERIES by the acclaimed author of The King's Daughter and Lady Of The Roses, revolving around the tragic figure of King Richard III and the Wars of the Roses.

Editorial Reviews:
“Expounding an historical epic of honor and love during the time of the Wars of the Roses, The Rose of York: Love & War is both dramatic and evocative in its portrayal of struggling souls making the best choices they can in an unjust world. A deftly written, reader engaging, thoroughly entertaining and enthusiastically recommended historical novel which documents its author as a gifted literary talent.”~ Midwest Book Review (June 2004)
A Romantic Times TOP PICK!
“The historical detail is marvelous. Worth's depiction of the troubled times, uncertainty of life and the portrayal of historical figures as multidimensional people with good intentions, bad decisions, greed, jealousy and goodness of heart will leave you wanting the next book immediately.” ~ The RT Book Reviews Magazine (November 2003)

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mdelcid25 - LibraryThing

I have never found the view of Richard III as being a monstrous, hunch-backed ogre to be believable in the least. He was known as a fine warrior and had admirably overseen Northern England for many ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - marieburton2004 - LibraryThing

This book is the first of a series by Sandra Worth, published in 2003 about the Wars of the Roses. For those who do not know, The Wars of the Roses was a period in England of civil wars from about ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

23 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2003)

Sandra Worth is the internationally published author of six books chronicling the decline of the Plantagenets and rise of the Tudors of which The Rose of York comprises a prize-winning trilogy. She holds a BA in Political Science and Economics from the University of Toronto. For more information on awards, visit

Bibliographic information