What Jesus Meant

Front Cover
Penguin, Mar 2, 2006 - Religion - 176 pages
5 Reviews
“Garry Wills brings his signature brand of erudite, unorthodox thinking to his latest book of revelations. . . . A tour de force and a profound show of faith.” (O, the Oprah Magazine)
Look out for a new book from Garry Wills, What The Qur'an Meant, coming fall 2017.

In what are billed “culture wars,” people on the political right and the political left cite Jesus as endorsing their views. But in this New York Times-bestselling masterpiece, Garry Wills argues that Jesus subscribed to no political program. He was far more radical than that. In a fresh reading of the gospels, Wills explores the meaning of the “reign of heaven” Jesus not only promised for the future but brought with him into this life. It is only by dodges and evasions that people misrepresent what Jesus plainly had to say against power, the wealthy, and religion itself. But Wills is just as critical of those who would make Jesus a mere ethical teacher, ignoring or playing down his divinity. An illuminating analysis for believers and nonbelievers alike, What Jesus Meant is a brilliant addition to our national conversation on religion.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AshRyan - LibraryThing

Garry Wills is one of those very few Christians (almost invariably Catholic) whom I can sort of respect---honest, knowledgeable, even intellectual, and perfectly willing to challenge fundamental ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PointedPundit - LibraryThing

Unambiguously, Garry Wills cuts to the heart of the gospel in his book “What Jesus Meant.” As in “Lincoln at Gettysburg” and “Nixon Agonistes” (my two favorite Wills books) the author looks at a ... Read full review


A Note on Translation
Christ Not a Christian
1 The Hidden Years
2 The Work Begins
3 The Radical Jesus
4 Against Religion
5 Heavens Reign
6 Descent into Hell
7 The Death of God
8 The Life of God

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

Garry Wills is one of the most respected writers on religion today. He is the author of Saint Augustine’s Childhood, Saint Augustine’s Memory, and Saint Augustine’s Sin, the first three volumes in this series, as well as the Penguin Lives biography Saint Augustine. His other books include “Negro President”: Jefferson and the Slave Power, Why I Am a Catholic, Papal Sin, and Lincoln at Gettysburg, which won the Pulitzer Prize.

Bibliographic information