Act One - Current Nebula and Hugo Nominee for Best Novella

Front Cover
Arc Manor, Apr 8, 2010 - Fiction
0 Reviews
'One of the best of the year...a compelling novella about a once-famous actress and her devoted manager who get much more publicity of an unfortunate sort when they inadvertently become embroiled with an act of biological terrorism with potentially world-changing results.''Gardner Dozois, Locus

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2010)

Nancy Kress (born January 20, 1948) is an American science fiction writer. She began writing in 1976 but has achieved her greatest notice since the publication of her Hugo and Nebula-winning 1991 novella "Beggars in Spain" which was later expanded into a novel with the same title. In addition to her novels, Kress has written numerous short stories and is a regular columnist for Writer's Digest. She is a regular at Clarion writing workshops and at The Writers Center in Bethesda, Maryland. During the Winter of 2008/09, Nancy Kress was the Picador Guest Professor for Literature at the University of Leipzig's Institute for American Studies in Leipzig, Germany.AwardsNebula AwardsBest Short story winner (1986): "Out of All Them Bright Stars"Best Novella winner (1991): "Beggars in Spain" (this is the 1991 Novella, not the 1993 novel of the same title)Best Novelette winner (1998): "Flowers of Aulit Prison"Best Novella winner (2007): "Fountain of Age"Hugo AwardBest Novella winner (1992): "Beggars in Spain" (this is the 1991 Novella, not the 1993 novel of the same title)Best Novella winner (2009): "The Erdmann Nexus"Best Novella nominee (2010): "Act One"John W. Campbell Memorial AwardBest Novel second place (1994): Beggars in Spain (there was no first place award in 1994)Best Novel winner (2003): Probability SpaceTheodore Sturgeon Memorial AwardBest Short Science Fiction winner (1997): "Flowers of Aulit Prison

Bibliographic information