Mugby Junction

Front Cover
Compiled by Charles Dickens, Mugby Junction is an intriguing composite of tales. Published here for the first time in its entirety, it contains one of Dickens’ most celebrated ghost tales, The Signalman, as well as short stories by Charles Collins, Hesbah Stretton, Andrew Halliday, and Amelia Edwards. Arriving at Mugby Junction in an attempt to escape his unhappy past, Barbox Brothers befriends a workman and his invalid daughter. With their help, he sets his sights on discovering which of the seven lines of the junction will most aid him in his journey of escape. In exploring one such line, he meets “the woman he had lost,” only to return to Mugby Junction once this has played out. Staying there, and continuing his friendship with the workman and his daughter, he collects the myriad stories he hears tell of at the junction. Charles Dickens is one of England’s most important literary figures.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - john257hopper - LibraryThing

This often quite loosely connected series of short stories appeared in the Christmas 1866 edition of All The Year Round, a magazine that Dickens was then editing, while also supplying much of the ... Read full review

Mugby Junction

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Perhaps not the old boy's best-known work (hey, at least it's short), this 1866 collection offers eight stories all transpiring at Mugby Junction. Read full review


Barbox Brothers by Charles Dickens
Barbox Brothers and Co by Charles Dickens
Main Line The Boy at Mugby by Charles Dickens

6 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Charles Dickens, perhaps the best British novelist of the Victorian era, was born in Portsmouth, Hampshire, England on February 7, 1812. His happy early childhood was interrupted when his father was sent to debtors' prison, and young Dickens had to go to work in a factory at age twelve. Later, he took jobs as an office boy and journalist before publishing essays and stories in the 1830s. His first novel, The Pickwick Papers, made him a famous and popular author at the age of twenty-five. Subsequent works were published serially in periodicals and cemented his reputation as a master of colorful characterization, and as a harsh critic of social evils and corrupt institutions. His many books include Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, Bleak House, Great Expectations, Little Dorrit, A Christmas Carol, and A Tale of Two Cities. Dickens married Catherine Hogarth in 1836, and the couple had nine children before separating in 1858 when he began a long affair with Ellen Ternan, a young actress. Despite the scandal, Dickens remained a public figure, appearing often to read his fiction. He died in 1870, leaving his final novel, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, unfinished.

Bibliographic information