Faith Fox

Front Cover
Carroll & Graf, Jan 26, 2005 - Fiction - 312 pages
3 Reviews
Faith Fox has led a life full of heartbreak and abandonment, lacking in simplicity and love--and she's not even one week old. She has suffered the unexpected and inexplicable loss of her mother in childbirth; her father, an overworked doctor grown callous with stress, has neither the ability nor the interest to take on the difficult task of raising his child alone; her grandmother, Thomasina, has decided to abscond to Egypt with a retired general rather than acknowledge and accept the loss of her daughter, whom she loved so distressingly well. And so Faith finds herself improbably at the rearing of her father's brother, Jack, an ascetic priest whose current endeavor is an occult "experimental community" comprised mainly of expatriate Tibetans. What ensues is a brilliant comedy of manners that revives the tradition begun by Jane Austen--an endlessly charming passage through the North and South of England that finally gives a major and lavishly gifted award-winning British writer the American readership she so richly deserves.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SeriousGrace - LibraryThing

While the title of this book is Faith Fox, Faith is not the star of the show. The real star is her deceased mother, Holly. Holly Fox died of a blood clot while giving birth to Faith and her passing ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - britalcast - LibraryThing

Did not enjoy this as much as Flight of the Maiden's or Old filth. A very "busy" novel stretched thin over too many lightly sketched characters. Did not finish but will return to it again. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2005)

Jane Gardam was born in North Yorkshire, England in 1928. She is the author of many children's novels that include "A Long Way from Verona" (1971). She has also written novels and collections of stories for adults that include "God on the Rocks" (1978), "Bilgewater and the Pangs of Love and Other Stories" (1983) and "The Summer After the Funeral." Her book "Groundlings" was taken from "Showing the Flag and Other Stories" (1989). Gardam's novels and stories have received many literary prizes.

Bibliographic information