The Old Neighborhood: A Play

Front Cover
Samuel French, Inc., Jan 1, 1998 - American drama - 70 pages
3 Reviews
When Bobby returns to the old neighbourhood, the people and places of his past cast shadows over the present.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: The Old Neighborhood

User Review  - Josh Drimmer - Goodreads

I re-read this because I found I couldn't remember it, but upon re-read, I see why. It's inessential Mamet. The best of these three plays is the shortest, which is frustrating as it ends right when it really begins. Read full review

Review: The Old Neighborhood

User Review  - TrumanCoyote - Goodreads

Liked them as exercises--and that manner of overlapping and gapping dialogue. But maybe he even overdid that real-time hesitations verisimilitude stuff; anyway, it just seemed like episodes to me--nothing that really hung (or stuck) together. Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

David Mamet, November 30, 1947 - David Mamet was born on November 30, 1947 in Flossmoor, Illinois. He attended Goddard College in Vermont and the Neighborhood Playhouse School of Theater in New York. He began his career as an actor and a director, but soon turned to playwriting. He won acclaim in 1976 with three Off-Broadway plays, "The Duck Variations," "Sexual Perversity in Chicago" and "American Buffalo." His work became known for it's strong male characters and the description of the decline of morality in the world. In 1984, Mamet received the Pulitzer Prize in Literature for his play, "Glengarry Glen Ross." In 1981, before he received the Pulitzer, Mamet tried his hand at screenwriting. he started by adapting "The Postman Always Rings Twice," and then adapting his own "Glengarry Glen Ross" as well as writing "The Untouchables" and Wag the Dog." He also taught at Goddard College, Yale Drama School and New York University. Mamet won the Jefferson Award in 1974, the Obie Award in 1976 and 1983, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award in 1977 and 1984, the Outer Circle Award in 1978, the Society of West End Theater Award in 1983, The Pulitzer Prize in 1984, The Dramatists Guild Hall-Warriner Award in 1984, and American Academy Award in 1986 and a Tony Award in 1987. He is considered to be one of the greatest artists in his field.

Bibliographic information