Front Cover
Viking, 1992 - Concentration camp inmates - 288 pages
0 Reviews
"We first met Naomi in Obasan, a deeply moving novel in which Joy Kogawa explored the Japanese Canadian wartime experience through the girl's very young eyes. Canada's betrayal of Japanese Canadian citizens during the 1940s fractured that community, and it never fully healed. The child Naomi, too was terribly wounded. Itsuka tells another story, one of profound hope, extrodinary commitment, and the fragile progress of love." From the bookjacket.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

From Japanese-Canadian author Kogawa, a sequel to Obasan (1982) that—despite admirable intentions—reads more like a partisan political history than a novel. Continuing the story of her Japanese ... Read full review


User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Itsuka translates to "some day,'' as in, someday ancient wrongs will be righted, old grievances will be redressed. This is the story of the long struggle by Japanese Canadians to receive compensation ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

36 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1992)

Joy Kogawa was born in Vancouver, British Columbia in 1935 and graduated from high school in Coaldale, Alberta where her family was sent after WWII. Kogawa was made a Member of the Order of Canada. From 1983 to 1985, she worked with the National Association of Japanese Canadians to help those Japanese who had lost their land and possesions under the War Measures Act in 1942. Kogawa went on to study education at the University of Alberta and taught elementary school in Coaldale for a year. She then studied music at the University of Toronto followed by studies at the Anglican Women's Training College and the University of Saskatchewan. Kogawa has won awards for her book Obasan, including the Books in Canada, First Novel Award, the Canadian Authors Association, Book of the Year Award, the Periodical Distributors of Canada, Best Paperback Fiction Award, the Before Columbus Foundation, and The American Book Award

Bibliographic information