A Good Man, Book 3

Front Cover
Atlantic Monthly Press, 2011 - Fiction - 464 pages
34 Reviews
In the ambitious and masterful final novel of his bestselling trilogy, Guy Vanderhaeghe, returns to the nineteenth century Canadian and American West to explore the final days of one of the world’s last great frontiers.

Wesley Case is a former soldier and son of a Canadian lumber baron who sets out into the untamed borderlands between Canada and the United States to escape a dark secret from his past. He settles in Montana where he hopes to buy a cattle ranch, and where he begins work as a liaison between the American and Canadian militaries in an effort to contain the Native Americans’ unresolved anger in the wake of the Civil War. Amidst the brutal violence that erupts between the Sioux warriors and U.S. forces, Case’s plan for a quiet ranch life is further compromised by an unexpected dilemma: he falls in love with the beautiful, outspoken, and recently widowed Ada Tarr. It’s a budding romance that soon inflames the jealousy of Ada’s quiet and deeply disturbed admirer, Michael Dunne. When the American government unleashes its final assault on the Indians, Dunne commences his own vicious plan for vengeance in one last feverish attempt to claim Ada as his own.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: A Good Man (Frontier trilogy)

User Review  - Goodreads

This literary western, longlisted for the 2011 Giller Prize, is set in the late 1870s, primarily between Fort Walsh in the Cypress Hills of southwestern Saskatchewan and Fort Benton in Montana. The ... Read full review

Review: A Good Man (Frontier trilogy)

User Review  - Michael Selvin - Goodreads

For openers, I loved The Englishman's Boy and The Last Crossing...really top notch. This book did not grab me. I could not find a single character that I liked or respected: not Case, not Ada. Most of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Guy Vanderhaeghe was born in Saskatchewan in 1951. He is the author of six books of fiction, including The Englishman's Boy, which won the Governor General's Award for Fiction and the Saskatchewan Book Award for Fiction and for Best Book of the Year; and the bestseller, The Last Crossing, a Book Sense 76 Selection and winner of Canada Reads 2004 and the CBA Libris Award for Best Fiction Book of the Year.

Bibliographic information