The Food of Death: Fifty-one Tales

Front Cover
Kessinger Publishing, Apr 1, 2005 - Fiction - 140 pages
0 Reviews
A collection of stories by Lord Dunsany. Contents: The Assignation; Charon; The Death of Pan; The Sphinx at Gizeh; The Hen; Wind and Fog; The Raft-Builders; The Workman; The Guest; Death and Odysseus; Death and the Orange; The Prayer of the Flowers; Time and the Tradesman; The Little City; The Unpasturable Fields; The Worm and the Angel; The Songless Country; The Latest Thing; The Demagogue and the Demi-Monde; The Giant Poppy; and 31 more. See other titles by this author available from Kessinger Publishing.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2005)

Though during his lifetime the Irish nobleman Lord Edward John Moreton Drax Plunkett, the 18th Baron Dunsany, was perhaps regarded as a minor talent, his somber short fantasies and novels had a significant impact on the development of fantasy and horror fiction. In real life, Dunsany was as interesting and versatile as anyone about whom he wrote. He was an African big-game hunter, a soldier in both the Boer War and World War I, and was wounded in the 1916 Irish Easter Rebellion. He was also the national chess champion of Ireland. Dunsany's first short story collection, The Gods of Pegana, was published in 1905 and was soon followed by other fantasy anthologies, including Time and the Gods (1906) and The Sword of Welleran and Other Stories (1908), among others. These stories are distinguished by their elegant, fairy tale settings and Dunsany's unique, macabre sense of humor. Dunsany's novels, such as The King of Elfland's Daughter (1924) and The Charwoman's Shadow (1926), are considered fantasy classics. Although Dunsany wrote prodigiously and with great versatility throughout his life, many regard his early, highly stylized short fiction to be his best work, and his most important.

Bibliographic information