Must the Maiden Die

Front Cover
Berkley Prime Crime, 1999 - Fiction - 366 pages
Basing her Seneca Falls Mystery series on actual historical events, Miriam Grace Monfredo has received critical acclaim for her vivid depiction of nineteenth-century America. Sara Paretsky applauded the series as "well written...historically accurate and telling." Set in a volatile era when women, abolitionists, and other social reformers fought to reshape the nation, the series features Glynis Tryon, a small-town librarian with women's rights on her agenda -- and mystery on her mind...

In Seneca Falls, only whispers of the Civil War are heard in the spring of 1861. Glynis turns her attention to the upcoming nuptials of her niece Emma and the arrival of her niece Bronwen -- until the body of a prominent local manufacturer is found, the victim of an apparent stabbing. The main suspect is his indentured servant -- an abused and frightened girl sold into servitude by her greedy father.

Trying to save the accused girl from the fate that awaits her, Glynis must untangle a tapestry of lust, high treason, and legal treachery that brings the stark reality of the growing Civil War close to home...

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (1999)

Miriam Grace Monfredo, a former librarian and a historian, lives in Rochester, New York. This is the seventh Seneca Falls Mystery. A previous Seneca Falls Mystery, The Stalking-Horse, was chosen by the Voice of Youth Advocacy as one of 1998's best adult mysteries for young adults and received a "best" review in Library Journal's young adult section.

Bibliographic information