The Maggody Militia

Front Cover
Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated, 1998 - Fiction - 264 pages
8 Reviews
Maggody, Arkansas, is a peaceful little Ozarks town snuggled in the heartland of America...until a group of camouflage-clad patriots march in with maneuvers and murder, Suddenly, Chief of Police Arly Hanks has her hands full: burglars are breaking into houses; the mayor is missing; and a survivalist has just been killed. Which leaves Arly hunting for a motive, a means, and a murderer. Wisely, she reckons there isn't a secret government conspiracy behind this homicide -- just the usual human evils of blind ambition, big money, and deadly obsessions!

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Maggody Militia (Arly Hanks #10)

User Review  - Diane Hernandez - Goodreads

Not as funny as many others in this series but characters seem like family and it's always nice to go home for a visit. Read full review

Review: The Maggody Militia (Arly Hanks #10)

User Review  - Charlene Gordon - Goodreads

The Maggody books are hilarious! Actually laugh out loud funny. Read this in 1998. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1998)

Joan Hess is a writer and educator. She was born in Fayetteville, Arkansas in 1949. She received a B.A. in art from the University of Arkansas in 1971 and an M.A. in education from Long Island University in 1974. For several years, she taught art in a private preschool. She has lectured at Southwest Missouri State University, the University of Arkansas, Rice University, and Xavier University. She is also a columnist for Mystery Scene Magazine. From 1982 to 1984, she wrote 10 unpublished romance novels. In 1986, she published Strangled Prose, which was chosen as the best first novel in the 1986 Drood Review Readers Poll and nominated for an Anthony Award. She is the author of Claire Malloy Mystery series and the Arly Hanks Mystery series. A Diet to Die For won the American Mystery Award for best traditional novel of 1989. A short story, "Too Much to Bare," received the Agatha Award in 1990 and the McCavity Award in 1991. She also writes under the pen name Joan Hadley. Joan Hess is a winner of the American Mystery Award, a member of Sister's in Crime, and a former president of the American Crime Writers League.

Bibliographic information