« PreviousContinue »
of Zachariah Eddy, Esq., and Thomas Weston, and on the easterly side is the family tomb of Rev. Peter Thacher.
Titicut Cemetery was set apart from land given by the Indian James Thomas in 1750. Some years ago it was enlarged by a gift of land from David G. Pratt. It is controlled by a board of trustees connected with the Titicut parish. A monument has been erected to commemorate the gift, which bears also the names of the three Indians who conveyed land for the Titicut church.
Warrentown Cemetery, one of the oldest in town, is situated on the westerly side of Summer Street, between the houses formerly occupied by Mr. George Hartwell and Solomon Beals. The land was probably given by Daniel Warren in the early part of the eighteenth century. There have been but few recent interments. The oldest grave in this cemetery now marked is that of Elizabeth Lewes, widow of James Lewes, who died in March, 1744, in her ninetieth year.
The Alden Cemetery, situated on Plymouth Street between Purchade and North Middleboro, was probably an old Indian burial ground, and many Indian remains have been there found. It was considerably enlarged in the early part of the last century by a gift from Obadiah Sampson, and has recently been extended by the purchase of other adjoining land. At present it is controlled by a board of trustees. The first burial was that of Hepzibah Allen, who died November 28, 1728. In this, as in the other old burial grounds, there are no stones or monuments to mark the place of those interred before this date.
The cemetery at South Middleboro near the Methodist Church was given by Consider Benson and others in 1768, and since that time has been twice enlarged by the purchase of adjoining land. It was incorporated a few years since, and is now managed by a board of trustees. The oldest burial is that of Joseph Harris, who died November 21, 1771, aged fifty-nine years and six months.
The Central Cemetery is located on the northerly side of Center Street opposite Nevertouch Pond. In the early part of the last century the land was owned by Mr. James A. Leonard, who consented to its use as a burial-place, and afterwards, on August 18, 1842, and in 1858, by two deeds conveyed the land to the Central Baptist Society of Middleboro. It consists of about one and a half acres of land. The oldest stone in this cemetery is that of Bathsheba, wife of Hercules Richmond, who died October 24, 1819.
Rock Cemetery, situated west of the church, was used prior to 1795. It is controlled by the deacons of the Baptist Church and the Baptist Society. The oldest burial is that of Eunice, daughter of Nathaniel and Hannah Barrows, who died August 22, 1791, aged twenty-two years.
There are other cemeteries at Rock, first used in the early part of the last century, one adjoining the old training-green, another lying on the east side of the church, the Ewer Cemetery on the south of the church, and Hope Rest Cemetery.
The Wood Cemetery, known as the Thomas Wood Cemetery, was a family burial ground at the corner of Grove and Wood streets. It has been in disuse for almost a hundred years, and trees and bushes have now so grown over the entire lot that it is difficult to distinguish it in passing by. The oldest interment here was that of Abner, son of Joshua and Hannah Waterman, who died July 18, 1796, in his twenty-second year.
Thomastown Cemetery is a well-kept burial-place on Purchase Street, and consists of about two acres of land controlled by the Ladies' Sewing Circle of that neighborhood. The first burial here was that of Ruth Shaw, who died May 21, 1811, in her twenty-first year.
Waupaunucket Cemetery is situated on both sides of Vaughan Street, and has been used for more than fifty years.
St. Mary's Catholic Cemetery, on Wood Street, consists of eight acres of land, purchased and dedicated in May, 1891.
Poorhouse Cemetery is a small lot on the east side of the railroad track near Wood Street bridge and the town farm, used only as a pauper burying-ground, and containing about thirty graves with rough stones but no inscriptions. It was first used about 1831.
Tispequin Street Cemetery, near Fall Brook, is small and well kept. The oldest inscription is that of Zilpah, wife of Nathaniel Atwood, who died August 28, 1838, aged fifty-six years.
In addition to the above-named cemeteries, there are the Leonard Cemetery, on Taunton Street near the Lakeville line; the Gammons Cemetery on Sachem Street near Fall Brook; the Eaton Cemetery on Taunton Street between Center and Cross streets; the Drake Cemetery on Pleasant Street, North Middleboro; the Benson Cemetery, South Middleboro, which has not been used for more than one hundred years; and the Old Smallpox Cemetery, now overgrown with pine wood and underbrush, at the corner of Brook and Soule streets, near the Plympton line.