The Ordained

Front Cover
Harlequin Sales Corporation (Mm), 1998 - Fiction - 250 pages
0 Reviews
In 1844, a religious sect founded a small town and held its breath for the Second Coming, when the faithful would be carried to heaven. One hundred and fifty years later, they're still waiting. Then three people disappear--and some think the prophecy is finally coming true. Ex-seminarian turned sleuth Owen Keane thinks there's a more corporeal explanation, something to do with a convicted killer's parole hearing--because there's nothing very divine about a cold body in a shallow grave. Martin's Press.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Rapture, Indiana, got its name from the millennialist prophets who planned to use it as their point of departure for the world's end. But now, 150 years after the Ordained of God were disappointed, it ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Terence Faherty is the author of two series: the Shamus-winning Scott Elliott private eye series, set in the golden age of Hollywood, and the Edgar-nominated Owen Keane series, which follows the adventures of a failed seminarian turned metaphysical detective. His short fiction has won the Macavity Award and been nominated for the Anthony and the Derringer. An occasional lecturer on the films of Basil Rathbone, Faherty was recently admitted to the Baker Street Irregulars. He lives in Indianapolis with his wife Jan.

Bibliographic information