House of Many Shadows

Front Cover
Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated, 1996 - Fiction - 304 pages
4 Reviews
They said she was seeing things that it was all in her head. After the accident, Meg Rittenhouse began to experience hallucinations-strange, disturbing sights and sounds that couldn't possibly be real. The doctor said her mind was playing tricks on her. All she needed was rest, and the visions would go away. So Meg accepted her cousins invitation to stay at the old house in the country, hoping the change of scenery would help. But the hallucinations didn't stop, in fact they got worse.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Jean_Sexton - LibraryThing

I can see why some fans of Barbara Michaels are put off by House of Many Shadows. It is more of a paranormal mystery/Gothic with a touch of romance. I love discovering the answers along with the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Tess_Elizabeth - LibraryThing

This is a just "okay" little mystery/ ghost story with a somewhat interesting plot but weak characters. I always forget that Barbara Michaels was writing in the 60's and 70's, and thus the way the ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

17 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Barbara Mertz was born on September 29, 1927 in Astoria, Illinois. She received a bachelor's degree in 1947, a master's degree in 1950 and doctorate in Egyptology in 1952 from the University of Chicago. She wrote a few books using her real name including Temples, Tombs and Hieroglyphs (1964), Red Land, Black Land (1966), and Two Thousand Years in Rome (1968). She also wrote under the pen names Barbara Michaels and Elizabeth Peters. She made her fiction debut, The Master of Blacktower, under the name Barbara Michaels in 1966. She wrote over two dozen novels using this pen name including Sons of the Wolf, Someone in the House, Vanish with the Rose, Dancing Floor, and Other Worlds. Her debut novel under the pen name Elizabeth Peters was The Jackal's Head in 1968. She also wrote the Amelia Peabody series and Vicky Bliss Mystery series using this name. She died on August 8, 2013 at the age of 85.

Bibliographic information